Hi, I’m TheWinxClubFanatic!

September 19, 2011 at 8:11 am | Posted in Announcements, Personal, Ramblings and Musings | 7 Comments

Editor’s Note – Elizabeth Marietta Hawkins is now a contributor to Magia Di Winx. This is her introduction. Give her a nice, warm, welcome, everyone!

Hi everyone! AKA all the readers of Magia Di Winx, one time visitors to the blog…etc, etc, you know the lot.

My sister asked me to write a short introduction post so you guys know who I am and what I’m doing here. Well, I assume you know what I’m doing here, because she already ranted about that in this post, but you don’t know who I am, so I’ll get onto that straight away.

I’m Elizabeth, Ashley’s sister. But I hate being called that, so just call me Betty or Liz, because those names are shorter and sweeter.

Like her, I’m Italian-American, though I don’t like coffee much, I prefer tea.

I’m thirteen, and as of September 2011, I’m a freshman in a Los Angeles high school. I started watching Winx Club in Italy when I was seven, with my sister. I didn’t actually mean to get addicted to it, rather, my mom had set me the task of watching Italian shows on Rai Due and Rai Tre to improve my Italian. Originally, I preferred Rai Tre, because it had tons of crime shows (and it still does). There was a time where it would air Italian dubs of Murder She Wrote.

But then there were times I would sit and watch television with my sister, who seemed to be addicted to Rai Due. At that time, she was…let me do some quick calculation…fourteen, or somewhere around that age. She would always be watching a show called Winx Club. I was young at that time (that’s not to say I’m an old lady now), and as any young child, I had a fascination with magic and the supernatural (though I’m scared to death of horror movies). That’s when I began to watch Winx Club, and I absolutely adored it. Looking back, I think what drew me to it was the plot. It was kind of different, different in a good way. And then of course, there was the transformation into what I still affectionately refer to as “Magic Winx”. Those two things pretty much got me hooked.

It’s human nature to blame others for stuff, and I blame my sister for getting me addicted to watching the show, because, well, she would forever be watching Winx Club when I wanted to watch something else.

That’s the story of how I fell in love with the show. 🙂

Now, a little bit more about me.

I suffer from a mild form of Attention-Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder. It’s a…well, I have concentration lapses sometimes, and other times I don’t really know what I’m doing, I fall into a sort of trance. But it’s nothing much, and I don’t let it interfere with my life.

We have two rescue dogs in our family, and the one I adopted, I called Pennyfeather. She’s my second best friend. I love taking her for walks, feeding her, I don’t even mind cleaning up after her! I love her very much and I’m also fiercely protective of her. I don’t know whether that’s normal behavior for a pet owner, but that’s me. 🙂

I can be a bit quirky at times, and people tell me I have a really odd sense of humor, but one that’s funny nonetheless. I believe strongly in magic, and I really love anything out of the ordinary, like aliens and stuff. I love love love Tom and Jerry, and I know people may consider it childish, but as they so often say, you’re never to old to do what you love.

I happen to love movies (except for horror). There was a point last year where I seriously considered becoming a film critic, and I actually plotted out how I’d become one, but then I realized I’d skipped school in the map I’d drawn, so I chucked the whole thing in the bin.

Unlike my sister, I’m not a technology-obsessed person. That’s not saying I hate it, I’m somewhere in the middle of technophobe and technophile.

I like balance. Balance in life, balance in work and play, balance in diet, balance in everything. Nature strongly abhors a vacuum, which is why we have winds, ocean currents, hurricanes, etc. Nature tries to balance out the world, and if I can help it do that, why not?

Um…what else? To be honest, I’m useless at writing introductions to myself. I’m so useless that I tried to talk my sister out of doing this, but she’s just as stubborn as me.

I hate writing long, opinionated things, and I’m no good at that, either. I’m trying to become better, but right now, I just suck at it.

That’s why my primary purpose on this blog is going to be delivering news on Winx Club to all of the readers of Magia Di Winx.

I hope you’ll enjoy seeing posts from me here in the future! And I’m dreadfully sorry for the long introduction.

Betty/Liz, TheWinxClubFanatic

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It’s nice to meet you Liz!

    • It’s nice to meet you too. 🙂

  2. So nice to meet you, Liz! Welcome!

    • Thank you so much!

  3. I totally forgot to say welcome on this post!!!!!!! You and your sister both have such great writing skills! I’m looking forward to see what you contribute to this blog.

    I think it’s really cool that you’re Italian-American. I love diversity! Do you speak Italian fluently?

    • Thanks, I’ve always loved writing!

      Well, not as fluently as my sister. We’re actually Italian via our mom, and she’s the most fluent at Italian in our family. But she’s training me up, and I hope I’ll be good enough at it one day. I can understand most of what they say in the Italian Winx Club shows now, but I can’t rattle off Italian orders to the person behind the counter back in Italy. It takes me some time to formulate sentences and get the grammar right.

      • Well, that’s still pretty good! I’m sure you’ll get even better with a bit of time and practice.


Any thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

