Thoughts on Diaspro vs. Bloom

December 21, 2011 at 7:34 am | Posted in Airings and Dubs, Bloom, Characters, Diaspro, Miscellaneous, Nickelodeon, Powers and Spells, Season 1, Seasons and Movies, Voice Actors/Actresses, Winx Club | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

I was just re-watching the battle between Bloom and Diaspro from Revenge of the Trix of the Nickelodeon Winx Club specials, and I thought I’d post a few thoughts on it.

So, overall, I didn’t like it as much as I liked it in Italian and RAI English. Sure, the animation was smoother, faster, and way better, but it Bloom in Diaspro's ring and Diaspro's gems are destroyed by Bloom. still lacked the quality that came from the originals.

I don’t like the transformations Nick made for the girls, as in the new “Charmix” transformations. My sister and I agree that the original “Winx” transformations were and are way better than the Nick ones.

Aside from the Winx, I liked what Nick did with Diaspro’s transformation very much. It seems more elegant and graceful, and it fits Diaspro much better than what Rainbow originally did with her transformation. One thing I didn’t like was that if you listen carefully while she transforms, you can hear the Winx-transforming-into-Zoomix-from-Season-4 music playing for her transformation. I doubt it would have been hard for them to come up with a score for her transformation, after all, they did manage to come up with a…well, I didn’t like it so much, but a “Charmix” song for the Winx’s transformation.

I liked the animation in the parts where the girls attack each other very much, and the protective shield that Diaspro constructed for herself was absolutely fantastic and way better than the original version. I noticed they thickened and lengthened Bloom’s hair by quite a bit, and honestly, I don’t think the girls need longer hair. xP

As for voice acting, I did not like the random screams and shouts Molly Quinn provided while voicing Bloom fighting. Arianna Grande, however, did not sound like herself at all to me, and that’s what I call a marvelous job of voicing Diaspro. Her voice had that sort of snobbish upper-class air to it, and yet the fury of someone being forced to fight a civilian. Loved it.

The fact that they cut out the little bit of physical fighting between the girls upset me a little, because I think it’s important that they show these girls aren’t all reliant on magic and fairy powers and can actually fight, if only a little bit.

Yep, that’s about it. I’ve embedded the original and the Nick version below for you to compare. The original one is in Swedish and has only a part of the battle, unfortunately, but I think it’s still enough to compare the animations and what they left out/in. (If anyone has a link to a RAI clip, please let me know in the comments.)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Any thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

